LSV⁺/BDD – Efficient processing of direct debits

LSV⁺ and BDD are attractive direct debit procedures offered by the Swiss banks for the convenient handling of regularly occurring claims in francs and euro. They combine the best-possible consumer protection with efficient and secure processes, which minimize risks and costs for banks, debtors and creditors.

The legal basis for the direct debit procedures is formed by the participation conditions and debit authorizations. The participation conditions regulate the handling of instructions between the creditor and his/her bank. The debit authorization documents the legal relationship between the creditor, his/her financial institution and the debtor as well as that between the debtor and his/her bank. The debtor's bank is only permitted to pay the amount claimed if there is a valid debit authorization from the debtor.

The two procedures

LSV+ is the direct debit procedure with right of objection. In LSV+ the debtor can object to a payment made at his/her financial institution – without having to provide a reason for doing so – up to 30 days after notice of the debit to the account has been given.

There is also a second option for the business customer sector, the Business Direct Debit (BDD). BDD does not permit any objection and is an appropriate procedure for business models conducted according to the delivery-versus-payment principle.

LSV⁺/BDD – Traitement efficace de recouvrements directs

LSV⁺ et BDD sont des procédures de recouvrement attrayantes des banques suisses, permettant le règlement pratique de créances régulières en francs et en euros. Elles combinent la protection optimale du consommateur avec des processus efficients et sûrs contribuant à minimiser les risques et les coûts aussi bien pour les banques, les débiteurs que les bénéficiaires.

Les conditions de participation ainsi que les autorisations de débit forment la base juridique des intervenants. Les conditions de participation régissent le traitement d'ordres entre le bénéficiaire et sa banque. L'autorisation de débit documente les relations juridiques entre le bénéficiaire, son établissement financier et le débiteur d'une part, ainsi qu'entre le débiteur et sa banque. La banque du débiteur ne peut verser le montant demandé qu'en présence de l'autorisation de débit du débiteur.

Les deux procédures

LSV+ est la procédure de recouvrement direct avec droit de contestation. Dans LSV+, le débiteur peut contester auprès de sa banque – sans indication de motifs – un paiement effectué jusqu'à 30 jours au maximum après l'avis du débit en compte.

Il existe une seconde variante dans les affaires clientèle entreprises: Business Direct Debit (BDD). BDD ne prévoit aucun droit de contestation et cette procédure s'applique principalement lorsque le modèle d'affaires repose sur le principe de la livraison contre paiement.