LSV⁺/BDD – Efficient processing of direct debits

LSV⁺ and BDD are attractive direct debit procedures offered by the Swiss banks for the convenient handling of regularly occurring claims in francs and euro. They combine the best-possible consumer protection with efficient and secure processes, which minimize risks and costs for banks, debtors and creditors.

The legal basis for the direct debit procedures is formed by the participation conditions and debit authorizations. The participation conditions regulate the handling of instructions between the creditor and his/her bank. The debit authorization documents the legal relationship between the creditor, his/her financial institution and the debtor as well as that between the debtor and his/her bank. The debtor's bank is only permitted to pay the amount claimed if there is a valid debit authorization from the debtor.

The two procedures

LSV+ is the direct debit procedure with right of objection. In LSV+ the debtor can object to a payment made at his/her financial institution – without having to provide a reason for doing so – up to 30 days after notice of the debit to the account has been given.

There is also a second option for the business customer sector, the Business Direct Debit (BDD). BDD does not permit any objection and is an appropriate procedure for business models conducted according to the delivery-versus-payment principle.

LSV⁺/BDD – Effiziente Abwicklung von Lastschriften

LSV⁺ und BDD sind attraktive Lastschriftverfahren der Schweizer Banken zur bequemen Abwicklung von regelmässigen Forderungen in Franken und Euro. Sie kombinieren bestmöglichen Konsumentenschutz mit effizienten und sicheren Prozessen, welche Risiken und Kosten für Banken, Zahler und Zahlungsempfänger minimieren.

Teilnahmebedingungen und Belastungsermächtigungen bilden die juristische Grundlage für die beteiligten Parteien. Die Teilnahmebedingungen regeln die Abwicklung von Aufträgen zwischen dem Zahlungsempfänger und seiner Bank. Die Belastungsermächtigung dokumentiert die rechtlichen Beziehungen zwischen Zahlungsempfänger, seinem Finanzinstitut und dem Zahler auf der einen sowie zwischen dem Zahler und dessen Bank auf der anderen Seite. Die Bank des Zahlers darf den geforderten Betrag nur bezahlen, wenn die Belastungsermächtigung des Zahlers vorliegt.

Die zwei Verfahren

LSV+ ist das Lastschriftverfahren mit Widerspruchsrecht. Im LSV+ kann der Zahlungspflichtige bei seiner Bank – ohne Angabe von Gründen – bis maximal 30 Tage nach Avisierung der Kontobelastung Widerspruch gegen eine ausgeführte Zahlung einlegen.

Im Firmenkundengeschäft existiert eine zweite Variante, das Business Direct Debit (BDD). BDD lässt keinen Widerspruch zu und ist als Verfahren vor allem dort relevant, wo das Geschäftsmodell dem Prinzip Lieferung-gegen-Zahlung entspricht.